The More I Know, the More I Know I Don’t Know

As I was sitting in my Greek class this morning, God took something that he’s been showing me this whole school year and made it crystal clear: the more I know, the more I know I don’t know. I think that makes sense.

We were translating from Philippians 2 and we came across a verse that I have read a particular way my entire life. I thought this verse was as plain as day. It turns out that, not only is the Greek extremely ambiguous, using words in a totally different context than they are usually used, but even when we do find an adequate translation, the theological implications are really confusing.

These are the days that frustrate me. These are the days that I really kind of wish I had stuck to being a business major so I could still be content with my understanding of Scripture and of the Gospel. But what I’ve realized about theology, as with almost any other subject, is that a little bit of theological study can make you really arrogant. It can make you think you really know a lot. But a lot of theological study, or at least a decent amount in my case, can really confuse you. It can really confuse you, but it can also really humble you. And I would argue that humility is a very safe place to be.

God has spoken to us about humility as much as anything in Scripture. He says through the prophet Isaiah in Isaiah 66:2, “this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word.” I pray that this would be a mindset we can all strive for. Let us humbly approach the Lord. Let us avoid arrogance, for God hates “pride and arrogance and the way of evil and perverted speech” (Proverbs 8:13). Let us not forsake our pursuit of knowledge and understanding, but remember that wisdom can only be found if we fear the Lord (Psalm 111:10). Let us joyfully embrace the mystery that is our God, knowing that if we could truly figure him out, he wouldn’t be worth worshipping in the first place, would he?

“O LORD, my heart is not lifted up;
            my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
            too great and too marvelous for me.
But I have calmed and quieted my soul,
            like a weaned child with its mother;
            like a weaned child is my soul within me.

O Israel, hope in the LORD from this time forth and forevermore.”

-Psalm 131

Leave a Reply

